A Curriculum for Excellence

Scottish schools follow the national curricular programme, “A Curriculum for Excellence” by which learning is delivered across eight curriculum areas:

  • Language
  • Mathematics
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Expressive Arts
  • Social Sciences
  • Technologies

You will often hear reference to “the experiences and outcomes”. This is the learning framework which makes up the broad, general curriculum that all children follow from early years to S3 in high school.
Children progress from the Early level (Nursery and Primary 1) through the First level in the middle of the primary school and Second level from Primary 5 to Secondary 3.

Our School Improvement Plan 2019-20 can be found here

Our School Improvement Report 2018-19 can be found here